Skip to Content

At the Top

The Division of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery hosted its first Midwest Facial Nerve Conference on Friday, August 21, at the Wisconsin Institutes for Discovery. Faculty from the division as well as physicians from California, Nebraska, Michigan and Iowa presented at the program. There were 35 attendees, which included physicians, advanced practice providers, OTO residents, medical students and nursing staff from throughout the United States. A patient-focused community talk finished out the event in the evening, with a lecture and discussion on the challenges of facial paralysis. Thank you to Scott Chaiet, MD, and Delight Hensler for planning this successful event.

New Faculty

Please help me welcome two new faculty members who are starting this week.

Paul DiMusto, MD, is joining the Division of Vascular Surgery as assistant professor CHS. He is a graduate of the University of Michigan Medical School and completed his general surgery residency and a vascular surgery fellowship with the University of Michigan Department of Surgery. He took time out during his residency to concentrate on research and complete a Medical Innovation Fellowship in Aortic Disease at the University of Michigan Medical Innovation Center. Dr. DiMusto has a strong background in research surrounding abdominal aortic aneurysms, focusing largely on gender differences in abdominal aortic aneurysm formation.

Angela Gibson, MD, PhD, will join our faculty as assistant professor in the Division of General Surgery’s Section of Trauma, Acute Care Surgery, Burn and Surgical Critical Care. Dr. Gibson is a familiar face around the Department of Surgery, having started her medical career as an RN in the Burn Center. She earned her MD and PhD from UWSMPH through its Medical Scientist Training Program, completed her general surgery residency with us in 2014, and this summer was the first fellow to rotate through our new Surgical Critical Care Fellowship. Dr. Gibson’s research focuses on new skin substitutes and polymers to treat injuries, along with treatment outcomes for burn patients.


Each year, UWSMPH faculty members volunteer to host a small group of incoming medical students for dinner. This is always a popular activity for students and one of the only opportunities faculty members have to meet aspiring doctors early in their UW medical school careers. This year, 10 of the almost 50 faculty participants were from surgery. A huge thank you goes out to these surgeons:
Jackie Arbuckle, MD
Lou Bernhardt, MD
Justin Blasberg, MD
Luke Funk, MD, MPH
Mike Garren, MD
Hee Soo Jung, MD
Carla Pugh, MD, PhD
Ann O’Rourke, MD, MPH
Jen Steiman, MD
Lee Wilke, MD Copyright © 2017 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System