Skip to Content

At the Top

On February 24, the Department of Surgery hosted the 20th Annual Folkert O. Belzer Visiting Professorship Dinner. The event honors Dr. Folkert O. Belzer, chair of the UW Department of Surgery from 1974 to 1995 and a dedicated surgeon-scientist, well-respected teacher, and visionary leader. In 1987, Dr. Belzer and his colleagues developed the “UW solution," a fluid that could keep donated organs viable for 18 to 30 hours, allowing more time for the matching of organs and recipients. His discovery revolutionized organ transplant worldwide. Visiting Professor Jeffrey B. Matthews, MD, chairman of the department of surgery and surgeon-in-chief at the University of Chicago Medicine, delivered Surgery Grand Rounds to a packed room on Wednesday morning and spent the day touring our facility and meeting with faculty and residents. The day concluded with a dinner and program honoring Dr. Belzer at The Madison Club.


Susan Thibeault, PhD, CCC-SLP, received notice that her R01 competitive renewal “Engineering the Vocal Fold Extracellular Matrix” will be funded for five years at a total cost of $2,758,974 through the NIH/National Institution on Deafness and Other Communication Disorders. Dr. Thibeault is PI on three R01 grants, Co-PI on one R01, PI on two R01 sub awards, PI on one R01 supplement, Co-Investigator on one R01, mentor on a K23, and co-director on a T32 funding research in voice disorders. Nice work, Dr. Thibeault!


Dixon Kaufman, MD, PhD, was unanimously elected to Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA), the national medical honor society. Founded in 1902, AOA recognizes and advocates for excellence in scholarship and the highest ideals in the profession of medicine. The 123 chapters around the world elect their own members. Dr. Kaufman will be honored along with other UWSMPH inductees during an April 1 ceremony on campus. Congratulations on this well-deserved honor! Copyright © 2017 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System