Skip to Content

At the Top

Petros Anagnostopoulos, MD, has been appointed to the position of American Family Children’s Hospital Surgeon in Chief, Interim, effective immediately. Petros is the chief of pediatric cardiac surgery and the co-medical director of the children’s heart program. In the spring, he will complete his master’s degree in Business Administration from the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Please join us in congratulating Petros on this new leadership role at the children’s hospital.


Will Burlingham, PhD, Professor of Surgery, received word from the NIH that his R01 grant “Natural vs. Pathogenic Th17 responses to col VA1, Ka1tubulin and vimentin” was funded for the full five years. We are so happy for Dr. Burlingham and his laboratory team, who have maintained a funded lab for over 28 years.

The Department of Surgery hosted a record-breaking 300 attendees at its 7th Annual Research Summit, held at Union South on Wednesday, January 20. The daylong event brought together research-minded Department of Surgery colleagues to share ideas and explore collaboration. This year’s invited speakers focused on the event theme of Biotechnology. John Biondi, director of UW Discovery to Product (D2P), presented “D2P a New Culture of University Startups.” William Linton, CEO and chairman of Promega Corporation, offered “UW and Promega: Partners in Science and Discovery.” And R. Daniel Beauchamp, MD, deputy director of Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center and surgeon-in-chief at Vanderbilt University Hospital, gave the talk “What Is a Surgeon-Scientist? And How Do You Create One?” In addition, faculty members, students, and researchers from our department presented on various topics, and Department Chairman K. Craig Kent, MD, gave us his annual “state of the department” address with his Research Update. The poster session attracted 140 submissions. Winners were awarded plaques and cash prizes by the individual honored in the award name. They were:

  • Louis C. Bernhardt, MD Best Clinical, Health Services, or Educational Science Poster Award – Student: Ellen Meisner (Tim McCulloch lab)
  • Debra A. Hullet, PhD, Best Basic or Translational Science Poster Award – Student: Erin Devine (Jack Jiang lab)
  • Charles N. Ford, MD, Best Clinical, Health Services, or Educational Science Poster Award: Ravi Garg (Greg Hartig lab)
  • K. Craig Kent, MD, Best Basic or Translational Science Poster Award: Md. Abdur Razzaque (Shahab Akhter lab)
  • Layton F. Rikkers, MD, Best Oral Presentation: Lynn Haynes (Dixon Kaufman lab)

Thank you to the entire Research Summit committee, with a special thanks to Mary Nutt, Bin Ye, Erin Goeldner and Karen Williams, and the event co-chairs, Timothy King, MD, PhD, and Shahab Akhter, MD. Copyright © 2017 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System