Skip to Content

At the Top

Dr. K. Craig Kent was featured in the Spring 2012 edition of The Academic Surgeon, a publication of the Association for Academic Surgery. Check out his article “The Future of Surgical Research: A Department Chair’s Perspective” here.


Dr. Sahil Kapur, Plastic Surgery Resident, received the 2012 Plastic Surgery Foundation’s Research Fellowship for his project titled “Controlling Peripheral Nerve Signal Transmission with Light”. The $50,000 grant will support his year in the laboratory. Dr. Kapur is mentored by Dr. Sam Poore and collaborators in the Department of Biomedical Engineering.

Three Department of Surgery faculty members are advising students who have been granted a Hilldale Faculty/Undergraduate Research Award for the 2012-13 academic year. Dr. Clifford Cho (student Justin Meyers), Dr. Timothy King (student Taylor Jaraczewski), and Dr. Joshua Mezrich (student Michael Van Voorhis) were awarded either $500 or $1,000 to help offset costs associated with the Hilldale student’s research.


Dr. Chip Foley will be a Core Faculty member at the American College of Surgeons Comprehensive General Surgery Review Course held in Chicago, June 28-July 2, 2012.

Honors and Awards

Dr. Lee Faucher has been appointed to the editorial board of the Journal of Burn Care and Research.

Clinical News and Innovation

Athanasia Schreiner was awarded the VA Secretary’s Award in Nursing Excellence as an Advanced Practice Nurse. Athanasia is an outstanding member of the VAH Cardiac Surgery team. The program, established in 1984, annually honors the recipients’ contributions to the care of patients in any VA health care setting. This award is given only once to an individual. Copyright © 2017 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System