Skip to Content

At the Top

Dr. William Burlingham is the winner of this year’s American Society of Transplantation (AST) Basic Science Established Investigator Award. The AST sponsors a variety of Achievement Awards according to faculty rank in recognition of the AST member’s achievements and contributions to the field of transplantation. Dr. Burlingham has been a member of the department since 1983, and a faculty member since 1993. His NIH funded lab focuses on basic and translational studies in transplant immunology. His innovative and insightful research has been widely published. Join me in applauding Dr. Burlingham on this prestigious honor.


The Division of Otolaryngology – Head & Neck Surgery was well represented at the 25th meeting of the Dysphagia Research Society in Portland, Oregon. Winning awards from our division were Corinne Jones from the McCulloch Lab and John Russell from the Connor Lab. Russell won two 1st place awards for posters. Jones was the winner of the Sumiko Okada International Fellowship, which allows young researchers to attend and present at the Japanese Society of Dysphagia Research. Congratulations to both John Russell and Corinne Jones!

New Appointment

The School of Medicine and Public Health CHS Faculty Appointments and Promotions Committee this week approved the appointment of Dr. Daniel E. Abbott at the rank of Associate Professor (CHS). Dr. Abbott joins the Division of Surgical Oncology, where his contributions will be both as a clinician and as a health services researcher. Dr. Abbott’s UWCCC pilot application “Identifying barriers to smoking cessation in GI cancer patients” was selected for funding in the amount of $25,000. Congratulations and welcome to the faculty, Dr. Abbott!

Pancreas Pioneers

Dr. Hans Sollinger has been announced as a guest speaker at the University of Minnesota’s program, “Celebrating 50 Years of Pancreas Transplantation: Discovery, Innovation, and Advancement.” The program, which takes place May 19th, honors pioneers and celebrates 50 years of achievements since the first pancreas transplant. Dr. Sollinger developed the “Wisconsin technique” for pancreas transplants, which more than doubled the rate of kidney-pancreas recipients worldwide. He truly is a pancreas pioneer.

Farewell, Dr. Arbuckle

With mixed emotions we announced the retirement of Dr. Jacquelynn Arbuckle, clinical associate professor, from the Department of Surgery, effective March 15th. Dr. Arbuckle is a Wisconsin success story, growing up on the St. Croix Reservation near Spooner, Wisconsin, and graduating from UW as a Chancellor’s Scholar and a Medical Scholar. In 2015 Dean Golden appointed her director of the Native American Center for Healthcare Professions (NACHP) at UWSMPH. A scheduler at 1 S. Park contacted us with comments from a patient who had received Dr. Arbuckle’s retirement announcement. The scheduler relates that the patient, “just loves [Dr. Arbuckle] … [she] is her HERO, she adores [Dr. Arbuckle] as a person and as a surgeon, and she thanks [her] for holding her hand through her health crises.” Dr. Arbuckle will be deeply missed by her patients as well as by the department. Join me in wishing her the best as she pursues her passion as a mother of two young children and her gifts as an artist.

Patient Comments from Hospital Survey

John Hoch, MD (Vascular)
Dr. Hoch was very friendly and personable. A nice man, very knowledgeable. Everyone treated me with kindness and respect.”

Aimee Mastrangelo, PA-C (Plastics)
“Aimee exemplifies UW quality and compassion. Not only did she work with my challenging schedule, she was also over the top kind, sweet, and personable. I will continue to receive all my Plastics related care with Aimee and would recommend her and the UW Plastics team without hesitation! Just fabulous care!”

Diane Heatley, MD (Otolaryngology)
“Dr. Heatley is an amazing doctor with wonderful bedside manner. We appreciate her care and concern. For as educated and intelligent as Dr. Heatley is – she was extraordinarily personable and spoke to us in a way that we understood.” Copyright © 2017 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System