Skip to Content

Department Initiatives

In the Medical Student Match last week fourteen (10.3%) of 136 SMPH medical students selected general surgery for their specialty. This compares to a national benchmark of 6% of US senior medical students matched to categorical general surgery residencies. Over the past 5 years of match data there has been a steady increase, from 3% to this year’s match of 10.3% . Led by Becky Sippel, Yolanda Becker, Barb Lewis and Christie Legler, the Department has been working very hard to improve the surgery clerkship experience and the data shows we are being very effective. Congratulations!

Honors and Awards

Susan Thibeault has been selected to give the KayPENTAX keynote lecture at the American Speech Language and Hearing Association meeting in November 2010. The Kay-Pentax lecturer is selected annually from ASHA’s nearly 135,000 members.

Hans Sollinger has been chosen as the 2010 recipient of the American Society of Transplantation Mentoring Award which he will receive at the American Transplant Congress in San Diego in May. Dr. Sollinger was nominated for this award by four of his former transplant fellows: Dr. Alan Reed, Professor and Chief of Transplant and HPB Surgery at the University of Iowa; Dr. Robert Stratta, Professor of Surgery and Director of Transplant Services at Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center; Dr. Allan Kirk, Professor of Surgery and Vice Chairman of Research at Emory University School of Medicine, and Dr. Devin Eckhoff, Professor of Surgery and Director, Division of Transplantation at the University of Alabama-Birmingham.


The SMPH gave out three Excellence in Student Research awards this year. All three went to students mentored by Department of Surgery faculty:

Sharon Weber in Surgical Oncology, Andrew Sheinis in Astronomy, and Kevin Eliceiri in the Lab for Optical and Computational Instrumentation received a Coulter Grant for their project “A Hyperspectral Imager for Early Detection of Skin Cancer.” The award is for $101,000 for 2010-2011. Copyright © 2017 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System