Skip to Content

At the Top

UW Health held the 2015 Advanced Practice Provider (APP) Recognition Event on October 19 at the Monona Terrace and Convention Center. These annual, peer-nominated awards recognize APPs for their outstanding contributions to patient care, leadership and teaching. Congratulations to Lori Seaborne, PA, of our breast surgery group, recipient of the Excellence in Teaching Award, and Sarah Schaefer, NP, of our endocrine surgery group, recipient of the Excellence in Leadership Award. Special recognition goes out to three other APPs from our department who were among the nominees — Mary Beth Henry, NP, Sarah Smith, NP, and Linda Szalkucki, NP. Thank you all for your excellent work!


The Veteran’s Administration awarded Luke Funk, MD, MPH, a 5-year career development award for his grant “Identifying and Addressing Barriers to Bariatric Surgery within the VA.”

Charles Heise, MD, is a multi-PI with Hongrui Jiang, PhD, from the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering on a four-year R01 award from the National Institutes of Health. The grant offers $412,108 in support for their project “EasyVis: Laparoscopic Surgical Visualization through an Untethered, Panoramic, Three-dimensional Imaging System.” Congratulations, Chuck!

The Research Foundation of the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons awarded Christina Lee, MD, PGY-3R, a one-year, $20,000 award for her project “Exploring New Targets for the Treatment and Prevention of Inflammatory Bowel Disease.”


Department Chair K. Craig Kent, MD, hosted an outstanding gathering at his home on October 12 that brought together 60 medical students from the Surgical Interest Group and 50 surgery faculty for small-group and one-on-one discussions about what it means to be a surgeon. This was a great opportunity for SMPH students interested in pursuing surgical careers to ask questions of surgeons from a wide range of specialties and with broad research backgrounds. Thank you to everyone who participated in the Surgical Interest Group meeting — activities like this one are important in our pursuit to encourage more medical students to explore careers in surgery.


Earlier this year Sharon Weber, MD, was installed as president of the Society of University Surgeons, a prestigious organization founded in 1938 to encourage “the advancement of the art and science of surgery.” Dr. Weber is a long-time member of the SUS and has held several leadership positions within the organization since 2008. The Summer 2015 issue of the SUS News Bulletin featured Dr. Weber’s President’s Message, in which she promoted the SUS’s leadership skills development initiatives. This includes an upcoming course created in conjunction with the Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University, slated for September 2016 and designed to enhance members’ ability to become highly effective leaders in their health care institutions. Thank you, Sharon, for your work in this important organization and the contributions you’ve made to raise the visibility and reputation of the UW Department of Surgery on the national stage. Copyright © 2017 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System