Four Surgery Faculty Awarded UW Health Physician Excellence Awards

On Tuesday, November 30, four Wisconsin Surgery faculty received UW Health Physician Excellence Awards at a ceremony at the Edgewater hotel.

The UW Health Physician Excellence Awards is an annual ceremony featuring individuals nominated by their peers. Spanning seven distinct awards, the Physician Excellence Awards acknowledge both established UW providers and bold new faculty through the Rising Star categories for those who have completed 2-5 years of service.

Daniel Abbott, MD, FACS, was awarded the Clinical Educator Award, which acknowledges an outstanding educator with emphasis on teaching residents and medical students. Dr. Abbott is the surgical director of the UW Health Liver and Pancreas Center and his research focuses on socioeconomic disparities in cancer care.

Katherine M. Gast, MD, MS, received the Rising Star Leadership Award. Examples of Dr. Gast’s leadership include her roles as Department Medical Director for the UW Health Comprehensive Gender Services Program, a mentor and guest speaker for this past summer’s Surgery Clinical Research Continuum, and a research lead in patient outcomes for gender affirming surgery.

Daniel McCarthy, MD, MBA, MEM, was awarded the Rising Star Clinical Practice Award. An Assistant Professor in the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery, Dr. McCarthy was acknowledged for his exceptional patient and family-centered care with a commitment to quality and patient safety.

Sean Ronnekleiv-Kelly, MD, FACS, received the Rising Star Clinical Educator Award. Dr. Ronnekleiv-Kelly, himself an alum of the UW SMPH, has served as Assistant Professor through the Ronald E. and Patricia A. Kissinger Surgical Oncology Research Professorship.

Congratulations to the four Wisconsin Surgery recipients, and to all those recognized across UW Health for their life-changing work.