University of Wisconsin–Madison

Archive: Month in Review – June 2013

At the Top

Nadine Connor, PhD, was notified that her NIH R01 competitive renewal application, “Lingual and Laryngeal Muscle Plasticity” received an impact score of 20, or 3rd percentile, and was recommended for funding by the National Deafness and Other Communication Disorders Advisory Council. Congratulations on this major achievement!

Becky Sippel, MD, was notified that her NIH R01 resubmission with Nadine Connor, PhD, received an impact score of 20, which was the 5th percentile. They requested $2.1 Million for a clinical trial on central neck dissection for papillary thyroid cancer. This is Dr. Sippel’s first R01 and we congratulate her and Dr. Connor for writing a spectacular resubmission!


Daniel Ostlie, MD, was appointed Professor CHS and Suresh Agarwal, MD, was appointed Associate Professor CHS at the June meeting of the SMPH CHS Track Appointments and Promotions Committee. Both recommendations were unanimously approved.


Sharon Weber, MD, Caprice Greenberg, MD, and Pascale Carayon, PhD, received a $100,000 ICTR PCOR grant to study reducing readmission after complex cancer surgery: a human factors and systems engineering approach.

Craig Kent, MD, Lian Guo, PhD, and Michael Hoffmann, PhD received a $50,000 ICTR T1 Pilot Grant for their collaboration studying HTS on smooth muscle vs endothelial cells for anti-restenosis drugs.

Matthew Brown in Will Burlingham, PhD’s lab was notified that he received a fellowship award from the UW Cellular and Molecular Pathology (CMP)’s T32 to work on inducing pluripotent stem cells from T cells.

Sarah Franco in Craig Kent, MD’s lab was notified that she also received a fellowship award from the UW CMP NIH T32 training grant. Eight awardees were selected from 20 applicants.


Guilherme Campos, MD, PhD, was elected to Central Surgical Association membership.

Sam Gubbels, MD, was named Section Editor of Otology-Neurotology for the Annals of Otology, Rhinology and Laryngology.

Ann O’Rourke, MD, was elected to serve a two-year term as Director of the Board of Directors for the World Association for Disaster and Emergency Medicine (WADEM) at the 18th World Congress held in Manchester, England in May.

Marquita Decker, MD, PGY-3, who will be traveling to Erasmus University in Rotterdam as a UW Fulbright Student, was elected to receive a competitive $11,000 tuition reduction scholarship for her master’s program in Health Economics, Policy and Law. She was recognized for her former grades and motivation.

Erika Fehrenbach Prell, NP, was appointed to the Advanced Practice Nurse Council at UW Hospital.

Clinical Service

The University of Wisconsin Hospital and Clinics was verified as a Level I Trauma Center for one year and American Family Children’s Hospital was verified as a Level I Pediatric Trauma Center for 3 years by the American College of Surgeons. Thanks to Suresh Agarwal, MD and Ankush Gosain, MD, PhD for their leadership in these efforts.

The second annual “Day with the Experts: Cochlear Implants” on June 23, 2013 at the Waisman Center was a resounding success. Over 100 attendees learned about the latest advances in research, and heard firsthand from a panel of experts including cochlear implant users and their families. Sam Gubbels, MD, Mark Pyle, MD, Ruth Litovsky, PhD and Matt Winn, AuD, PhD presented.

Dixon Kaufman, MD, PhD, received the 2013 Patient Experience Physician Champion Award based on achieving the top 5% of all UW Health Physicians’ Avatar scores. He will be honored along with 40 fellow physicians on September 18 at an event celebrating patient and family-centered care.