University of Wisconsin–Madison

Archive: Week in Review – April 18, 2011

At the Top

At the American Board of Plastic Surgery meeting, Michael Bentz MD was elected as Vice Chairman of the ABPS for 2011-2012, progressing to Chairman-Elect in 2012-2013, and ultimately Chairman of ABPS in 2013-2014. This is considered the top position in plastic surgery. Congratulations on this lifetime achievement!


Bryant Megna, a student mentored by Greg Kennedy MD, has been awarded a 2011-2012 Wisconsin Hilldale Undergraduate/Faculty Research Fellowship.

Philip Wai MD was invited to participate at the Genzyme Fellow symposium last week for his work collaborating with Hans Sollinger MD PhD and Tausif Alam PhD. His presentation, “Gene Therapy for Diabetes,” was awarded the “The Fellows Choice Award”.

Adam Coughlin, a UW medical student mentored by Susan Thibeault PhD, received the 2011 Herman and Gwendolyn Shapiro Excellence in Student Research award—one of four awarded to Surgery researchers.

At the American Association of Plastic Surgeons meeting, Timothy King MD PhD was presented plastic surgery’s most competitive research award, the Academic Scholar Award, for 2011-2013.

At the American Association of Endocrine Surgery meeting, Xiao-Min Yu PhD, a post doc mentored by Herb Chen MD, won a Top Poster Award for her work.


Becky Sippel MD, was elected President of the Education and Research Committee at the American Association of Endocrine Surgery Annual Meeting.

At the Association of Academic Chairmen of Plastic Surgery meeting, the new and state of the art online Plastic Surgery Educational Network was unveiled and was Co-Chaired by Delora Mount MD.


Congratulations to cardiac surgery staff. VAH FY 2010 Cardiac NASQUIP scores reveal that 30 day mortality and morbidity rate was the lowest in the VISN. 80% of Madison CABG cases are done “off bypass pump” which is the third highest in the nation. Madison CABG patients spent less time intubated and on ventilators and were below the national average for patient time in the ICU.

Herb Chen MD was elected Recorder for the American Association of Endocrine Surgeons, which is a 3 year term. He will serve on the Executive Council and will coordinate all submissions from the meeting to the Journal SURGERY.