University of Wisconsin–Madison

Archive: Week in Review – April 21, 2014

At the Top

The Department of Surgery hosted 116 providers from around the state and region at the 5th Annual Current Topics in General Surgery CME, April 5-6 at the Monona Terrace. Courses were presented by 57 UW faculty; six visiting MDs from New York, Kentucky, North Carolina, Texas, and LaCrosse, Wisconsin; and special guest lecturer Layton “Bing” Rikkers, MD, who offered a history of the UW Department of Surgery. Conference highlights included three afternoon breakout sessions for advanced practice providers and nurses, two live surgery broadcasts from the UW OR, a pre-conference wound closure academy, and the 27-booth exhibit hall with a hands-on surgical robot display. A big “thank you” goes out to the planning committee for pulling together an educational and successful event.


Following the 5th Annual Current Topics in General Surgery CME, the Department of Surgery held its first Alumni Reunion Dinner and Chief Resident Chairing Ceremony the evening of April 5. The black tie affair offered former residents from four decades the chance to reminisce and offer advice to the chief residents — Drs. Christopher Dodgion, Angela Gibson, Ari Reichstein, Amy Suwanabol, and Barbara Zarebzcan. While the event was held in honor of the incoming chief residents, they weren’t the only team of successful Badgers the group of 80 supported that night — attendees gathered around a projector screen TV to cheer on the UW men’s basketball team in the Final Four against Kentucky. The group took advantage of halftime to hold the official chairing ceremony.


Eugene (Chip) Foley, MD, Tim McCulloch, MD, Jon Odorico, MD, and Susan Thibeault, PhD, CCCSLP were promoted to Professor with tenure. These promotions will take effect on July 1. Congratulations to everyone!


Dr. Greg Kennedy will receive the 2013 Dean’s Award for Excellence in Medical Student Research Mentorship. This award recognizes an SMPH faculty member who devotes exemplary effort to encouraging and developing medical student researchers. Dean Golden will present Dr. Kennedy with his award at Medical Education Day on May 2.

Eric Weinlander and Gajanthan Muthuvel are recipients of the 2014 Herman and Gwendolyn Shapiro Excellence in Student Research Award. The award recognizes the outstanding research achievements of students during the first two years of medical school. Eric conducted research on The Novel Histone Deacetylase Inhibitor Thaliandespin-A Inhibits Anaplastic Thyroid Cancer Growth under the mentorship of Dr. Herbert Chen. Under the mentorship of Dr. Greg Kennedy, Gajanthan conducted research on The Surgical Apgar Score Correlates with an Increased Risk of Readmission in Emergency Surgery Patients.

Dr. Ruth Litovsky, PhD, professor of communication sciences and disorders with a joint appointment in the Department of Surgery’s otolaryngology division, was named a 2014-2015 Fulbright Scholar. The award will allow Dr. Litovsky, widely recognized for her expertise on auditory perception, to work with colleagues in the Bionics Institute in Melbourne, Australia, to study how brain tissue of deaf individuals responds to sound.