University of Wisconsin–Madison

Archive: Week in Review – April 24, 2017

At the Top

Anne O’Rourke, MD, (Trauma), will receive a 2017 Dean’s Teaching Award. These awards recognize excellence and innovation in medical education, and are given to nominees who have shown a high degree of creativity in medical education, a high level of teaching effectiveness, and extraordinary and sustained dedication to medical student learning. Join me in congratulating Dr. O’Rourke for this well-deserved award. The award will be presented at Medical Education Day, May 19th. Please attend and cheer Dr. O’Rourke for her long-term advocacy of students in Surgery.

Elizabeth Bingman, MS, Dr. O’Rourke’s administrative partner in overseeing the medical student surgery clerkship, received the 2017 Association of Surgical Education (ASE) Clerkship Coordinator Recognition Award, at the annual meeting. This award is given annually to one Clerkship Coordinator in the country who has made the biggest contribution to the students and faculty at their School of Medicine. Elizabeth has been a leader in the department, facilitating the monthly Education Committee meeting, orienting and managing all student rotations, developing unique mobile interfaces for student communication and evaluation, and actively participating in LCME committees. The award is hard-earned and well deserved.

Surgical Education Week

The Department of Surgery had a good showing at Surgical Education Week in San Diego last week. Presenters included UW-ACS Surgical Education Research fellow Andrew Ruis, PhD; Hee Soo Jung, MD, (Trauma); and Cassidy Bommer, Shapiro student of Amy Liepert, MD, (Trauma). Three department members presented posters as well. Elizabeth Bingman presented work she has done with Anne O’Rourke, MD; Anne-Lise D’Angelo, MD, presented work she has done with Carla Pugh, MD, PhD; and Brooks Rademacher presented work he has done with Amy Liepert, MD. Sarah Sullivan, PhD, also acted as facilitator at a professional development course for scientist educators. Congratulations to everyone who represented our department in stellar fashion at this event.

Midwest Association of Plastic Surgeons

The 56th annual meeting of the Midwest Association of Plastic Surgeons was held in Chicago on April 15, and the UW Division of Plastic Surgery was well represented. Samuel Poore, MD, PhD, served as program chair and was promoted to president-elect of the organization. Ahmed Afifi, MD, was elected to the board as a member-at-large, and John Siebert, MD, presented a well-received talk on facelifting. Residents from the UW Division of Plastic Surgery presented 14 abstracts, ranging from the the Nicaraguan Experience to the basic science of neuromas. Resident Steve Kempton, MD, (PGY-6), was awarded the Top Basic Paper for his presentation “Development of a Limb-Sparing Non-Human Primate Arterial Transplant Model,” and resident Jackie Israel, MD, (PGY-4), won the second place Basic Science Prize for her paper “Chronic Electrodiagnostic Recording From an Osseointegrated Neural Interface.” Congratulations to everyone who participated!

Patient Comments from Hospital Survey

Amber Shada, MD (General)
“Dr. Shada has been a consummate professional in my visits with her. Her professional outlook on her personal concerns about her patients is truly appreciated.”

Thomas Pasic, MD (Otolaryngology)
“Dr. Pasic was very personable and put me at ease. I did not feel rushed, I felt listened to.”

Ahmed Afifi, MD (Plastic)
“My questions are always answered completely. I feel the dialogue is always interactive and I appreciate that.”