University of Wisconsin–Madison

Archive: Week in Review – April 25, 2016

At the Top

Daniel Abbott, MD, will join the Division of General Surgery as associate professor on May 5. Dr. Abbott earned his MD from the University of Washington School of Medicine in Seattle, completed his general surgery residency at Northwestern University/Feinberg School of Medicine in Chicago, and gained additional training in a two-year Surgical Oncology Fellowship at the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston. Dr. Abbott joins us following four years at the University of Cincinnati Department of Surgery in the Division of Surgical Oncology. Dr. Abbott brings an extensive health services research program with 50 peer-reviewed manuscripts and 10 more in press or under revision. Please join us in welcoming this rising star to our faculty.


Department of Surgery researchers received two pilot grants from the UW Carbone Cancer Center. Heather Neuman, MD, MS, was funded for her project “Implementation of a Web-based Decision Aid for Breast Cancer Surgery: Adapting to the Needs of Diverse Settings.” Caprice Greenberg, MD, MPH, was funded for her project “Re-excision Following Breast Conserving Surgery in the State of Wisconsin.” Each grant provides $25,000 for one-year. Congratulations to both of you!

Our Endocrine Surgery group recently attended the American Association of Endocrine Surgeons (AAES) meeting in Orlando, Florida. Becky Sippel, MD, finished her first year as Secretary-Treasurer of the organization. Wisconsin was well represented with three talks and three posters. Dave Schneider, MD, MS, was inducted as a new member, and Susan Pitt, MD, MPHS, won the 2016 Paul LoGerfo award for clinical research, the AAES’s most prestigious award.

A team of providers and residents from the Department of Surgery attended the American Society of Breast Surgeons meeting April 13-17 in Dallas, Texas. The group presented two posters and two oral presentations. Jennifer Mirrieeles, MS1, won the Scientific Presentation Award, which is given to the fellow, resident or medical student with the best presentation at the meeting. “Re-excision rates in breast conservation surgery in the Mastery of Breast Surgery program after publication of the SSO/ASTRO no tumor on ink guidelines” was co-authored by Caprice Greenberg, MD, MPH, Lee Wilke, MD, and research assistant Amanda Schulman.


The trauma department at University Hospital recently received its Trauma Quality Improvement Program Report for spring 2016. The report indicates our Surgical Intensive Care Unit has achieved significant improvements in the management of patients, and when compared to other centers across the nation ours is ranked in the top decile in most categories. Thank you to the entire trauma team for their hard work and dedication to exemplary patient care.

Awards & Honors

Trevor Schell, an undergraduate student in Dr. Jon Odorico’s lab, was awarded a 2016 University Book Store Academic Excellence Award. These awards are given to undergraduate students who best exemplify the principle that excellence can be achieved through independent study.


The UWSMPH Mini Med School was established in 2011 as a public education program to explore today’s compelling health issues and showcase the latest research in action. K. Craig Kent, MD, chair of the Department of Surgery, and Richard Page, MD, chair of the Department of Medicine, serve as mini deans over three sessions each year. The program recently received a $10,000 gift from two long-standing Mini Med School students. The funds will support scholarships for medical students.