University of Wisconsin–Madison

Archive: Week in Review – April 27, 2015

At the Top

Ten faculty members from the Department of Surgery were named 2015 UW Patient Experience Physician Champions. This honor, based on Avatar surveys completed by patients who recognized physicians for their exemplary communication skills, recognizes the top 6.5% of all UW Health physicians who were surveyed for this recognition. Congratulations to Tony Kille, MD; Ryan Macke, MD; Bradley Manning, MD; Jon Matsumura, MD; Delora Mount, MD; Dan Ostlie, MD; Samuel Poore, MD, PhD; Margaret “Gretchen” Schwarze, MD; Lee Wilke, MD; and Emily Winslow, MD.

Further congratulations goes to Heidi Smedal, AuD, CCC-A, named one of 10 UW Health Patient Experience Advanced Practice Provider (APP) Champions, also based on Avatar surveys. This award puts Smedal in the top 3.9% of all UW Health APPs who were surveyed for this recognition.


The Organization of Children’s Hospitals Surgeons-in-Chief membership elected Dan Ostlie, MD, to a three-year term as Executive Committee At-large Member. This organization includes surgeons-in-chief of children’s hospitals throughout the country and aims to foster administrative leadership and effective hospital/surgeon-in-chief relationships.


Two undergraduate students working under the mentorship of Department of Surgery faculty were awarded 2015-2016 Sophomore Research Fellowships. UW SMPH awards roughly a dozen of these fellowships every year, supplying students with $2,500 and a $500-stipend to the faculty/staff researcher advisor to help offset research costs. Sarah Wang, majoring in biochemistry, works under faculty advisor Susan Thibeault, PhD, CCCSLP, and Annie Yao, also majoring in biochemistry, works under faculty advisor Lian-Wang Guo, PhD.