University of Wisconsin–Madison

Archive: Week in Review – August 18, 2014

At the Top

In its biennial guide of the Madison area’s best physicians, Madison Magazine named 30 Department of Surgery faculty members 2014 Top Docs. You can read the entire list and about the methodology online at Madison Magazine. Congratulations to these surgeons for making the list:

Oncology, Surgical
Clifford Cho, MD
Sharon Weber, MD
Lee Wilke, MD

Greg Hartig, MD

Pediatric Otolaryngology
Diane Heatley, MD
James Scott McMurray, MD
Tony Kille, MD

Surgery, Bariatric
Michael Garren, MD
Jacob Greenberg, MD, EdM

Surgery, Cardiothoracic
Takushi Kohmoto, MD, PhD
Nilto De Oliveira, MD

Surgery, Colon/Rectal
Charles Heise, MD
Eugene Foley, MD
Gregory Kennedy, MD, PhD

Surgery, General
Michael Sloan, MD

Surgery, Hand/Microsurgery
A. Neil Salyapongse, MD
Michael Bentz, MD

Surgery, Plastic & Reconstructive
Michael Bentz, MD

Surgery, Thoracic
James Maloney, MD

Surgery, Transplantation
Joshua Mezrich, MD
David Foley, MD
Luis Fernandez, MD
Dixon Kaufman, MD, PhD
Anthony D’Alessandro, MD

Surgery, Vascular
Charles W. Acher, MD
Girma Tefera, MD
Margaret (Gretchen) Schwarze, MD
Jon Matsumura, MD

Ann O’Rourke, MD, MPH
Lee Faucher, MD
Suresh (Mitu) Agarwal, MD


Lee Faucher, MD, will begin a two-year term as UWHC Medical Staff president and chair of the UWHC Medical Board, which makes recommendations to the UWHC Board of Directors regarding medical staff membership.

Dan Ostlie, MD, was elected second vice president of the International Pediatric Endosurgery Group, an organization with members from 52 countries that is dedicated to advancing minimally invasive surgery or therapy in children and adolescents. This election will lead to Dr. Ostlie’s presidency in 2017.

Susan Thibeault, PhD, CCCSLP, will serve on the Graduate School Academic Planning Council (GSAPC) for 2014-2015. The GSAPC advises the dean on policy and budgetary planning, and annually proposes a Research Assistant rate for the next school year.