University of Wisconsin–Madison

Archive: Week in Review – February 10, 2014

At the Top

9th Annual Academic Surgical Congress

Last week marked the 9th Annual Academic Surgical Congress (ASC) in San Diego, Calif., and our department was out in full force. The ASC is a joint meeting of the Association for Academic Surgery (AAS) and Society of University Surgeons (SUS) and has been growing every year, an effort started in large part by AAS past-president Herb Chen, MD. Caprice Greenberg, MD, MPH served as Recorder of the AAS and co-chaired the Program Committee for the meeting. This year, more than 1,000 abstracts were submitted (20% increase from last year), and more than 1,300 registered for the meeting. We had the highest number of abstracts (54), with University of Michigan second (50), followed by University of Pittsburgh (43). Thanks to everyone who presented for showcasing the cutting-edge research underway in our department. We were also extremely well-represented as invited speakers and moderators for the many oral and quick shot sessions.

Colin Ehlenbach was chosen to compete in the Med Student Quick Shot competition. This means that his abstract scored among the top 10 from the 184 abstracts submitted with a medical student as the first author. As a reward, he had the opportunity to present to the past-presidents of the AAS. Congratulations to Colin and his co-authors Sarah Tevis, MD, Greg Kennedy, MD, PhD and Sarah Oltmann, MD for this achievement! Colin did an amazing job.

The UW Department of Surgery has been well-represented among the leadership of both organizations. Sharon Weber, MD was elected President-Elect and Greg Kennedy, MD, PhD was elected Secretary-Elect of the SUS, and they both assumed their roles at the meeting. The SUS, a major academic organization for mid-career faculty, celebrated its 75th anniversary, and has only had two previous female presidents. The SUS is dedicated to ensuring that today’s most promising young surgeons can pursue an academic career in medicine.

On the AAS side, Becky Sippel, MD was elected Secretary and Caprice Greenberg will serve as Recorder again this upcoming year. Other UW representation on the AAS Executive Council includes Peter Nichol, MD, PhD as Councilor, Tim King, MD, PhD who is finishing up his term as Representative for the Plastic Surgery Research Council, and Greg Kennedy who is the outgoing chair of the Issues Committee. Next year, Jake Greenberg, MD, EdM will be joining the EC as co-chair of the Education Committee. In addition, Ash Gosain, MD, PhD was nominated for the Nominating Committee and the results are still pending. The AAS was founded in 1967 and has grown significantly over the years being widely recognized as an inclusive surgical organization with the goal of engaging academic surgeons early in their careers. It is the largest academic surgical society with over 2,500 members.

The Department of Surgery has also been successful with the fellowship awards from both institutions as evidenced again this year. Carly Glarner, MD was featured during the awards ceremony presenting on her SUS/Karl Storz Endoscopy Resident Research Award entitled “Teaching in the Operating Room.” Carly was mentored by Chip Foley, MD, FACS, Caprice Greenberg and Sharon Weber. In addition, Lane Frasier, MD was selected as the recipient of the AAS Research Fellowship Award in Clinical/Outcomes for her research entitled “Team Fluidity in the Operating Room.” She is mentored by Caprice Greenberg and Doug Wiegmann, PhD.