University of Wisconsin–Madison

Archive: Week in Review – January 25, 2010

At the Top

Dr. James (Jim) Southard will be awarded the University of Wisconsin Medical Alumni Association Emeritus Faculty Award on April 23 at the Madison Concourse Hotel as part of Medical Alumni weekend. Dr. Southard was a scientist and professor in the Department of Surgery for over 35 years, becoming emeritus in 2008. He served as a mentor, advisor, and major professor for graduate and Ph.D. students as well as postdoctoral fellows from the United States and Europe—for many years these illustrious faculty came from all over the world to study with Jim. Dr. Southard published over 250 articles in peer-reviewed journals and published over 30 book chapters. Along with Dr. Folkert Belzer, he was the co-inventor of the University of Wisconsin Organ Preservation Solution. This solution is used throughout the world and is considered one of the top 75 discoveries made by UW faculty. In addition, he holds four patents for organ preservation solutions.


Dr. Bing Rikkers will be awarded the Founder’s Medal, the highest honor awarded by The Society of Surgery for the Alimentary Tract (SSAT) at their annual meeting in New Orleans in May.

Department Initiatives

HealthGrades, a national firm which compares and reports on healthcare quality and patient safety, released its 2010 awards. Meriter Hospital has been recognized for Specialty Excellence Awards in Gastrointestinal Surgery and General Surgery. Congratulations to our general surgeons operating at Meriter! HealthGrades completes its rankings based upon Medicare inpatient data collected from the MedPar database purchased through the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS).


Undergraduate student Emily Anstadt has been awarded a $2,000 grant for her honors thesis work on the effect of Cardiac-derived Mesenchymal Stem Cells on the Growth and Regenerative Properties of Cardiac Stem Cells In Vitro, under the supervision of Dr. Entela Lushaj and Dr. Lucian Lozonschi in the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery. The award is part of the Trewartha Research Grant. Congratulations Emily!