University of Wisconsin–Madison

Archive: Week in Review – July 21, 2014

At the Top

The Department of Surgery is excited to welcome three new faculty members to the Division of General Surgery.

Evie Carchman, MD, will join the Section of Colorectal Surgery on August 1. Dr. Carchman is a graduate of the Medical College of Virginia, completed her residency at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center, and just concluded a colorectal fellowship at Cleveland Clinic. Dr. Carchman has a clinical interest in minimally invasive approaches to complex colorectal disease and will be starting a basic research laboratory under the mentorship of Dr. Paul Lambert, studying fundamental mechanisms in the pathogenesis of lower GI tract malignancy.

Abraham Sayon, MD, will join the Division of General Surgery as a Clinical Assistant Professor on August 15. Dr. Sayon received his MD from Rush University in Chicago and completed his general surgery residency at Southern Illinois University School of Medicine, where he was named chief general surgery resident in his last year. Dr. Sayon recently completed an advanced surgical gastrointestinal fellowship at St. Vincent Hospital in Indianapolis. Dr. Sayon will practice at SwedishAmerican Hospital in Rockford, Illinois.

Jen Steiman, MD, will join the Section of Breast/Melanoma Surgery on October 6. Dr. Steiman was most recently the Society of Surgical Oncology Fellow in Breast Surgical Oncology at Magee-Womens Hospital at the University of Pittsburgh. She is a graduate of Southern Illinois University School of Medicine, where she also completed her residency in general surgery. Dr. Steiman will pursue surgical outcomes/health services research program.


The UW Department of Surgery will have a strong presence at the upcoming World Transplant Congress, July 26-31 in San Francisco, California. Drs. Will Burlingham, Dixon Kaufman, John Odorico, and Hans Sollinger will be involved in four oral presentations, along with current Transplantation-Surgery Fellows Michael Rizzari and Robert Redfield, and four researchers from Dr. Burlingham’s lab: William Bracamonte-Baran, Ying Zhou, Jeremy Sullivan and Ewa Jankowska-Gan. In addition, Drs. Kaufman and Odorico will offer invited podium presentations and Dr. Kaufman will co-moderate a session on de-sensitization.


The American Association of Pediatric Plastic Surgeons awarded Michael Bentz, MD, its 2014 Clinician of the Year Award.

The Wisconsin State Senate approved Sam Gubbels, MD, for a second term on the state’s Hearing and Speech Examining Board. Dr. Gubbels is vice chairperson in this entity, which regulates audiologists, hearing instrument specialists and speech language pathologists around the state.

Marquita Decker, MD, MPH, PGY-3 General Surgery Resident, has been selected by the Dean of the Graduate School to take part in the Committee on Institutional Cooperation Professorial Advancement Initiative. It is an NSF-funded project designed to support the development of under-represented minority post-doctoral trainees into academic professors of science, technology, engineering and mathematics.