University of Wisconsin–Madison

Archive: Week in Review – July / August 2010

Department Initiatives

Congratulations to our vascular surgeons. Again, for the last 12 months reviewed, calendar 2009, vascular mortality was statistically significantly low. Of the 200+ hospitals that participate in the ACS National Surgical Quality Improvement Program (ACS NSQIP) General/Vascular module, UW was the only hospital that was a low outlier.

After a rigorous two-day onsite survey in late April, UW Hospital and Clinics has been reverified as a Level 1 Trauma Center. This means UWHC and the American Family Childrens Hospital are one of 12 centers nationwide to hold verification by the American College of Surgeons (ACS) as a Level 1 Trauma Center for both pediatric and adult patients and to hold ACS verification as a Burn Center as well. We thank all involved for this major accomplishment.

Research Update

Emily Winslow has been awarded an Investigator Initiated Trial grant from the UW Comprehensive Cancer Center. Her project, “A Biological Study of Resveratrol’s Effects on Notch-1 Signaling in Patients with Low Grade Gastrointestinal Neuroendocrine Tumors” will be funded for $50,000.

The Center for Scientific Review at the National Institutes of Health (NIH) oversees grant application review (study sections) and makes recommendations to the NIH advisory boards. Craig Kent recently completed 4 years of service as a member of the NIH NHLBI (T32) Special Emphasis Panel. He has been appointed to the NIH NHLBI Bioengineering, Technology and Surgical Sciences Study Section from 2010-2016. Herb Chen was appointed to the Integrative and Clinical Endocrinology and Reproduction Study Section.

Honors and Awards

The Division of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery is pleased to announce that Susan Thibeault, PhD, Associate Professor Surgery, is the first recipient of the Diane M. Bless Chair in Otolaryngology. This endowed chair was established to honor Diane M. Bless, PhD, for her leadership and distinguished career in teaching, research and clinical practice. As the first recipient, Dr. Thibeault will receive an annual allocation of the interest/investment income from the endowment fund to advance her academic pursuits in research, teaching and clinical care. Dr. Thibeault is Director of the Voice and Swallow Clinic. She maintains an NIH-funded research laboratory in the Department and received tenure in recognition of her successful academic career in July 2010.

Anthony D’Alessandro was recently awarded the George Watts Annual Civic Heroism Award. Dr. D’Alessandro was nominated by Donate Life Wisconsin on behalf of his leadership in both state and national organ donation improvement initiatives as well as his contributions and expertise in the field of transplantation. Previous winners include Martin F. Stein, Tommy Thompson, Dr. Kurt Bauer, Rabbi Francis and Barry Silberg.

Lee Faucher was elected as Secretary/Treasurer of the Medical Staff and Jim Maloney was elected as an At Large Member of the Medical Staff. Congratulations!

Will Burlingham, PhD, was named co-editor of a new journal published by Landes Biosciences titled Chimerism.

Barb Zarebczan won the Midwest Surgical Association Resident’s competition on August 1-3, 2010, at the Grand Hotel in Mackinac Island, MI. Her paper was “Hesperetin, a Potential Therapy for Carcinoid Cancer.”