University of Wisconsin–Madison

Archive: Week in Review – March 21, 2016

At the Top

Nathan Welham, PhD, CCCSLP, recently learned his R01 grant renewal submission for his project “Regeneration of multi-layered vocal fold mucosa” was evaluated at NIDCD study section and received a perfect score (impact score of 10, 1st percentile). This is an extremely rare occurrence and one that deserves congratulations. While final funding decisions have not been made, we think it’s safe to say Dr. Welham and his team will be approved. Dr. Welham’s collaborators include Will Burlingham, PhD, Tim McCulloch, MD, Seth Dailey, MD, and Glen Leverson, PhD, of the Department of Surgery, Lloyd Smith, PhD, of the Department of Chemistry, and Sundaram Gunasekaran, PhD, of the Department of Biological Systems Engineering.


The UWSMPH Tenure Track Promotions Committee voted unanimously to promote Bo Liu, PhD, to the rank of professor, effective July 1, 2016. Congratulations, Dr. Liu!


UNICO National, the largest Italian American service organization in the U.S., awarded Jon Odorico, MD, its 2016 National Marconi Science Award and Medal. The award was established in 1995 to recognize a living U.S. scientist of Italian descent whose own work exemplifies the scientific and creative accomplishments of Guglielmo Marconi, the Nobel Prize-winning Italian inventor and electrical engineer who is best known for transmitting the first wireless radio signals across the Atlantic Ocean and his contributions to the development of radio. Congratulations, Jon, for your long term research contribution to islet cell transplantation research.


Administration staff from the Department of Surgery presented five posters at the UW-Madison Office of Quality Improvement’s 17th annual Showcase, March 16 at Union South. This event encourages the cross-campus exchange of innovative ideas and includes a half-day program of speakers and a poster session. Thank you to the Department of Surgery participants who took the time to prepare, submit and present posters at the event. You did an excellent job of representing the best of the Department of Surgery. The following is a list of posters and their presenters:

  1. Elizabeth Bingman: “Online and Risk-Free Educational Clinical Scenarios: Piloting Virtual Surgical Patient Cases with 3rd Year Medical Students During their Surgery Rotation”
  2. Elizabeth Bingman: “The Feedback Booth: A Novel Approach to Improving Surgical Educators’ Teaching Effectiveness”
  3. Sarah Sullivan: “SIMPL: System for Improving and Measuring Procedural Learning”
  4. Michelle Oster and Keely Jeppson: “At the Forefront: Harnessing the Power of Webinars to Engage and Educate Patients”
  5. Lisa Werning and Chris Savard: “Exact Effort: Using Grindstone and a 136 account to Charge for Effort on Clinical Trials”