University of Wisconsin–Madison

Archive: Week in Review – March 7, 2016

At the Top

Michael Bentz, MD, Chairman of the Division of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery and Vice Chairman of Clinical Affairs for the Department of Surgery, has been named the Layton F. Rikkers, MD, Chair of Surgical Leadership. The endowed chair was created in 2008 to honor Dr. Rikkers for his 12 years as chair of the Department of Surgery (1996 to 2008). Since joining the UW in 1999, Dr. Bentz has demonstrated his leadership excellence locally and nationally. He is an irreplaceable member of the leadership team in Surgery. His input into important and strategic issues is invaluable. Dr. Bentz is a caring mentor to many new faculty and surgeon leaders in the department. Beyond his leadership within the UW Department of Surgery, Dr. Bentz is likely the most prominent plastic and reconstructive surgeon in the U.S today. He currently serves as President of the American Association of Plastic Surgeons, he just completed a term as Chair of the American Board of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery and is a current member of the Residency Review Committee for Plastic Surgery. Congratulations, Dr. Bentz. We are grateful you remain at UW to help lead us into our future.


Will Burlingham, PhD, received word that his new R01 “Natural vs. Pathogenic Th17 responses to col Va1, Ka1Tubulin, and vimentin” will be funded for five years at the cost of $1.88 million starting March 1, 2016. Congratulations, Dr. Burlingham!

The American College of Surgeons (ACS) Foundation awarded general surgery resident Alexander Fisher, MD, PGY-2, under the mentorship of Sharon Weber, MD, an ACS Resident Research Scholarship for his project “Implementation of a patient-centered transitional care protocol following complex abdominal surgery.” The two-year award begins July 1, 2016, and offers a $30,000 annual research stipend. Congratulations, Dr. Fisher!


Hans Sollinger, MD, PhD, will present “Gene Therapy: A Cure for Diabetes?” at the Royal Academy of Spain on March 30, 2016.