University of Wisconsin–Madison

Archive: Week in Review – May 5, 2014

At the Top

Drs. Herb Chen, Becky Sippel, and Dave Schneider recently returned from the American Association of Endocrine Surgeons (AAES) Annual Meeting, where 12 of the 78 total accepted abstracts at the meeting came from our institution. Dr. Schneider had one of the highest scoring abstracts that made the primary plenary session, along with another senior and another first author abstract; this is a commendable accomplishment for a first-year faculty surgeon. Additionally, while Dr. Chen’s three-year term as recorder for the association has ended, Dr. Sippel will commence a three-year term on the AAES Executive Council. Thank you to our endocrine surgeons, who continue to bring national acclaim to the UW Department of Surgery — the only institution where all of the endocrine surgeons have NIH funding.


Four Department of Surgery faculty members are advising students who have been granted Hilldale Faculty/Undergraduate Research Awards for the 2014-2015 academic year. They include Bo Liu, PhD, (student Carmel Assa), Susan Thibeault, PhD, CCCSLP, (student Gabriel Enos), Ruth Litovsky, PhD, (student William Keener), and Jack Jiang, MD, PhD, (student Andrew Vamos). Hilldale Fellowships support undergraduate research done in collaboration with UW–Madison faculty or research/instructional academic staff.


Dr. Cliff Cho was elected as a member of the UW Biological Sciences Divisional Committee, which reviews faculty applications for tenure. He will start his appointment on July 1, 2014.

Heidi Smedal, AuD, CCC-A, and Director of Audiology at our One South Park Otolaryngology Clinic, is one of seven recipients of the 2014 UW Health Patient Experience Advanced Practice Provider (APP) Champion Awards, granted each year to an elite group of providers who exemplify UW Health’s goal to provide patient- and family-centered care. Congratulations, Heidi!

Lung-Yi “Felix” Lee, MD, was selected to receive the International Transplantation Science Mentee/Mentor Travel Award in recognition of his abstract “Nrf2 Deficiency Exacerbates Hepatic Ischemia-Reperfusion Injury in Mice.” The award will help offset attendance costs to the 2014 World Transplant Congress in San Francisco for Dr. Lee and his mentor, David P. Foley, MD.

Carla Pugh, MD, PhD, was a semifinalist for the Macy Faculty Scholars Program. Although not selected as a finalist for this prestigious award, moving to semifinalist is an achievement worth noting. One applicant per medical school is allowed and each year up to five awards of $100,000 (plus fringe) per year for two years and support to attend the Harvard Macy Institute program are given.


Covidien has chosen the Department of Surgery as the site for its VATS Lobectomy Regional Training Program. The first of these two-day thoracic training sessions will take place in June under the direction of James Maloney, MD.