University of Wisconsin–Madison

Archive: Week in Review – May 6, 2013

At the Top

Dr. Lou Bernhardt received the Dean’s Teaching Award on Friday, May 3, 2013 at Medical Education Day in recognition of his 50-year history of commitment to medical education. He continues to teach within the department in the fourth year elective, Surgery for the Non-Surgeon. He has served for many years on the SMPH Admissions Committee and is an active member of the Department’s Education Committee. Congratulations and well deserved!


On April 29, 2013 the SMPH CHS Track Appointments and Promotions Committee unanimously endorsed the department’s recommendations to promote Charles (Chuck) Heise and Girma Tefera to the rank of Professor. Both are superstars, with strong clinical and research programs, and service appointments.


The Department of Surgery held its annual Current Topics in General Surgery CME Course on April 26-27, 2013. This two-day event gathered 112 General Surgeons and Advanced Practice Providers from across the state of WI and region for didactic learning sessions, case presentations and discussion as well as a special feature on Friday afternoon – a dual live surgery broadcast from the OR at UW to the Monona Terrace (a Heller myotomy and laparoscopic hernia repair with open component separation). Also featured this year was an Advanced Practice Provider and Nursing breakout session which hosted nearly 65 APPs and nurses during the lunch hour on Friday.


Carly Glarner, 3rd year General Surgery resident, won the Outstanding Resident Paper Award at the Association of Program Directors in Surgery annual conference on April 23-27, 2013 in Orlando, Florida for her work “Utilizing a Novel Tool for the Comprehensive Assessment of Resident Operative Performance.” This award, recognized with a monetary prize and plaque, is to acknowledge excellence in resident-driven education research and graded on the importance of the topic, methodology of the study, quality of the presentation and ability to respond to questions. Her primary mentor is Chip Foley.

At the Midwestern Association of Plastic Surgeons (MAPS) 52nd annual meeting April 27-28, 2013 at Northwestern University, UW Plastic Surgery swept both first place research awards. Sahil Kapur, MD won first place in the basic science category with his presentation “Optical Control of Peripheral Nerve Signal Transmission”. Nyama Sillah, MD won first place in the clinical research category with her presentation “Validation of Clinical Criteria for Obtaining Maxillofacial CTs in Trauma Patients.”

Sara Murray, 3rd year General Surgery resident, won the best poster contest at the American Association of Endocrine Surgeons meeting held from April 14-16, 2013 in Chicago. Her poster, “Timing of Symptom Improvement After Parathyroidectomy,” was chosen as one of the top 5 posters (out of 46) to compete in an oral poster competition and she won 1st place in the oral competition. Her primary mentor is Becky Sippel.