University of Wisconsin–Madison

Archive: Week in Review – November 26, 2012

At the Top

In 2012-2013, Layton F. (Bing) Rikkers will serve as President-Elect of the American Surgical Association that includes surgical chairs and leaders from around the country.The American Surgical Association was founded in 1880 and is the oldest and most prestigious surgical society in the United States. Dr. Rikkers is also the first vice president-elect of the American College of Surgeons and will be installed as first vice president in October 2013. In this role, Dr. Rikkers will be an integral part of the leadership of an organization whose membership numbers approximately 70,000 surgeons and represents all of surgery in the U.S. It is an unusual and distinct honor to be elected to both of these leadership roles, let alone in the same year.


Peter Nichol was notified that his NIH R03 proposal, “Characterization of intestinal regeneration in a model of intestinal atresia” was awarded effective 4/1/2013. The grant program funded by NIDDK will provide two years of funding at $50,000 per year, to supplement the funds he receives annually for his K08 award.

Heather Neuman was notified that she was selected for a K12 award as part of the “Academic Oncologist Training Program,” Howard Bailey, Principal Investigator.

Sarah Tevis, general surgery resident working with Greg Kennedy, won the Commission on Cancer abstract competition at the Wisconsin Surgical Society. Dr. Tevis will represent Wisconsin in a nationwide research competition run by the Commission.

Guided by Cliff Cho, Sasha Mahvi, 1st year medical student, won the competition for best basic science presentation at the Wisconsin Surgical Society meeting. This is a tremendous accomplishment for a first year medical student—thanks to Dr. Cho for being an outstanding mentor.

Honors and Awards

Chip Foley received preliminary word that the General Surgery residency received full 5 year accreditation from the Residency Review Committee. Congratulations to Dr. Foley, Bob McDonald, the faculty and residents for putting together a great application and review day.

Becky Sippel was elected to the Board of Governors of the American College of Surgeons as a Surgical Specialty Governor from the Association for Academic Surgery representing the ACS Fellows in Wisconsin as well as the AAS. Dr. Sippel will serve through the conclusion of the 2015 Clinical Congress.

Clinical Kudos

Dai Yamanouchi treated a Sheboygan patient in an Investigational Device Exemption (IDE) study with an ultra low profile endovascular aortic repair (EVAR) device. The device is the first to be placed in Wisconsin and is delivered through a 12 French sheath. His femoral access arteries were small and diseased, so the newer device with the smaller sheath was very timely. Deb Gawin helped the patient comfortably navigate the clinical research path and facilitate UW being an investigative site in this important research advancement.