University of Wisconsin–Madison

Archive: Week in Review – November 6, 2017

At the Top

Department faculty and residents exemplified “remarkable people, remarkable results” at Wisconsin Surgical, held this weekend in Kohler, Wisconsin. Brooks Rademacher, MD, won the Resident Paper-Basic Science award for “Genetic Inhibition of Autophagy in a Transgenic Mouse Model of Anal Cancer” mentored by Evie Carchman, MD. Joseph Imbus, MD, won Best Resident Paper-Clinical for “Characterizing Surgeon Prescribing Practices and Opioid Use after Outpatient General Surgery,” with David Melnick, MD, as primary mentor. Drs. Elise Lawson and Caprice Greenberg presented on “Improving quality through the Surgical Collaborative of Wisconsin: What would it mean?” Attendees were engaged, with one stating “we must do this.” Amy Liepert, MD, presented the Healthcare Policy and Advocacy Engagement Update. Congratulations to Luke Funk, MD, MPH, who organized and ran this well-attended meeting, with excellent industry support and resident/medical student engagement.


Congratulations to Luke Funk, MD, MPH, who has been awarded the 2018 George H. A. Clowes, Jr., MD, FACS, Memorial Research Career Development Award from the American College of Surgeons. This competitive, five-year funding award supports the research of a promising young surgical investigator.


Jessica Van Beek-King, MD, recently led a Women in Surgery Interest Group lunch for medical students, which met for the first time last week. 20 medical students attended, as did faculty members Drs. Evie Carchman, Angela Ingraham, Courtney Morgan, Ann O’Rourke, and Amber Shada. Thank you all for your mentorship of the next generation of women surgeons.

Notable Publications

Jon Matsumura, MD, was a co-author on “Carotid Stent Fractures are not Associated with Adverse Events: Results from the ACT 1 Multicenter Randomized Trial,” published October 5th in Circulation.


Erik Johnson, MD, an alumnus of UW General Surgery residency, was recognized by Aurora Bay Care, for winning the Forward Award at the recent alumni gathering at the American College of Surgeons Clinical Congress in San Diego.

Stevie Marvin, MS, CCCSLP, is receiving the 2017 Diana Bracco Outstanding Applicant Award for BCS-S, granted to one BCS-S (Board Certified Specialist in Swallowing and Swallowing Disorders) applicant each year. This award is given by the American Board of Swallowing and Swallowing Disorders and will be presented at the American Speech-Language Hearing Association Conference later this week.

Susan Thibeault, PhD, CCCSLP,
will be receiving an Honor of the Association Award from the American Speech-Language Hearing Association at their upcoming conference. This honor recognizes individuals for their distinguished contributions to the discipline of communication sciences and disorders and is the highest honor the Association bestows. Congratulations, Dr. Thibeault!

Denise Zang, Associate Administrator in the department, has been named for a second term to the board of directors for the Wisconsin Medical Group Management Association, serving as the Chair of the Education Committee. This organization provides education about quality improvement, clinical operations, financial management, strategic planning, and academic medicine operations.


Dr. Mike Bentz and Nathan Wilke, Dr. Lee Wilke’s husband, are competing to be named the King of Sole at the annual Wine, Women, and Shoes fundraiser for breast cancer research at the UW Carbone Cancer Center. You can vote for Mike Bentz and Nathan Wilke with your gift online.

Patient Comments from Hospital Survey

David Foley, MD (Transplantation)
“Dr. Foley was knowledgeable, kind, patient, and took the time to address all concerns and explained them very well. The entire clinic was very efficient”

Nilto De Oliveria, MD
“I was impressed with all – first visit with this doctor and I am very satisfied and confident I am in good hands”

Peter Nichol, MD, PhD (Pediatric)
“We have always had a positive experience with Dr. Nichol and his nurses. They are fantastic. They are prompt with any response, they are compassionate, never rush us – taking time to ensure we are very comfortable with what is going on, and provide us with great confidence”