University of Wisconsin–Madison

Archive: Week in Review – October 29, 2012

At the Top

Greg Kennedy was notified by his program manager at NIH/NIEHS that his R01 research grant, The Role of Aryl Hydrocarbon Receptor in Colon Tumorigenesis, has been funded. This is Dr. Kennedy’s first NIH R01 award. Remarkable, spectacular achievement.

Last week a UWH team performed the first ascending aortic TEVAR in Wisconsin. The patient underwent minimally invasive mechanical AVR in August which led to six additional surgeries and many complications. His doctors asked for an urgent surgical consult through the UW Access center. UW surgeons reviewed CT angiograms through the VPN ImageShare and the patient was transferred to UWHC. With immense expertise and commitment of specialists across the system, the group deployed a stent graft to cover the leaking aortic tears through a percutaneous femoral approach. Congratulations to this committed team who provided hope and treatment for a very sick patient at the #1 hospital in Wisconsin.


Girma Tefera was notified that his proposal for a field course in Sidama, Ethiopia from May 24 to June 11 was approved for $17,035. Dr. Tefera, Heidi Busse and Kerry Zaleski will lead a group of UW students enrolled in the Undergraduate Certificate in Global Health. Including this course, the list of approved courses includes 15 countries on four continents as well as several locations in the US.

On October 19, the American Heart Association Go Red for Women Leadership Team visited the Department of Surgery and learned about Bo Liu’s AHA funded research in abdominal aortic aneurysms, toured the lab, and had lunch with Jon Matsumura to discuss the advanced operations offered in vascular surgery. Twenty community volunteers participated. We are grateful for their work in raising funds for research in heart and vascular disease.

Honors and Awards

Bo Liu was asked to join the editorial board of the Journal of Vascular Surgery, the official journal for the Society of Vascular Surgery.

Caprice Greenberg was appointed to the Scholarship Committee at the American College of Surgeons. This committee distributes ACS research awards.

Diane Bless is the 2012 recipient of the University of Wisconsin’s Doris Slesinger Award for Excellence in Mentoring. She was nominated by her colleagues Michelle Ciucci and Nadine Connor. This year’s award will be presented on October 29 at the Women Faculty Mentoring Program’s annual reception for newly promoted and tenured women at Union South.

Herb Chen was elected to a 3-year term as a COUNCILOR of the Midwest Surgical Association.

Clinical Kudos

Becky Sippel will receive the SCRUBs Award (Surgical Colleagues Recognizing Uplifting Behaviors) from the Professional Conduct Committee on December 6. The award is given for demonstrating and reinforcing uplifting behaviors in support of the UWHC Surgical Team. The award nomination stated: “Dr. Sippel is a surgeon who is totally committed to the care of her patients. She is always there and ready to go before the patient is even in the room. It is evident that she not only focuses on the surgical procedure itself, but also the “before” and the “after”. Dr. Sippel always displays a very positive attitude and it is contagious to those working in her room. She encourages a team approach and at the end of the day shows gratitude for a hard day’s work. She is a wonderful teacher to staff, residents and medical students and we are extremely happy to have her at UWHC.”


Endocrine Surgery is proud to announce that Dr. Dawn Emick will be joining the endocrine surgery program as a fellow in July 2013. Dawn is currently a chief resident at Duke University. She obtained her MD from John Hopkins, and obtained an MPH during residency from the University of North Carolina. She has interests in health services research, health policy, and surgical education.