Skip to Content

Susan Thibeault, PhD, CCC-SLP, was notified she will be receiving an Honor of the Association Award from the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association. This honor recognizes individuals for their distinguished contributions to the discipline of communication sciences and disorders and is the highest honor the Association bestows. Congratulations, Dr. Thibeault!

RESEARCH Our researchers and faculty shined at the 2017 American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons Annual Meeting. Evie Carchman, MD, was awarded a limited program grant, which will fund her basic science research on the role of mTOR/PI3K on anal cancer prevention and anal dysplasia treatment. Brooks Rademacher, MD, was awarded ASCRS Best Paper Award for the paper “In Vivo and In Vitro Efficacy of Dual PI3K/mTOR Inhibition on in Novel Murine Models of Anal Cancer.” Dr. Carchman and Louise Meske were co-authors on this paper. Congratulations on these achievements!


Bo Liu, PhD, recently won a three-year American Heart Association Mentor/Mentee grant, which supports mentorship partnerships between early-career and expert faculty. Congratulations, Dr. Liu!

Notable publications from June

Martin J Dib, MD, was a co-author and John Scarborough, MD, was a senior author on “The Volume outcome Relationship in Deceased Donor Kidney Transplantation and Implications for Regionalization,” published in the Annals of Surgery.

Caprice Greenberg, MD, MPH, was lead author on “A Statewide Surgical Coaching Program Provides Opportunity for Continuous Professional Development,” published in the Annals of Surgery.

Heather Neuman, MD, was a co-author on “Completion Dissection or Observation for Sentinel-Node Metastasis in Melanoma,” published in the New England Journal of Medicine.


UW Health’s American Family Children’s Hospital ranked in the top 50 children’s hospitals in seven medical and surgical specialties in this year’s U.S. News & World Report Best Children’s Hospital rankings, including cancer care, cardiology and heart surgery, GI surgery, and urology. Congratulations to all our faculty who provide care in these specialties at the Children’s Hospital!

Congratulations to the three faculty who won UW Health Physician Excellence Awards, presented last month. Their success was honored with the following praise from colleagues:

Evie Carchman, MD recipient of the Rising Star Clinical Excellence Award

“Dr. Carchman is clearly part of a vanishing breed of the true ‘triple threat’ academic medical faculty; making significant and unique contributions in our clinical, educational, and research missions.” – Eugene F. Foley, MD

Charles P Heise, MD recipient of the Clinical Leadership Excellence Award

“Dr. Heise is a leader who commands respect throughout the hospital without demanding it. He leads by example and is the consummate professional. His contributions are extensive and his commitment to advancing and supporting the UW Health mission, vision and strategic direction is unwavering.” – Elise H. Lawson, MD, MSHS

Roland J Vega, MD recipient of the Clinical Leadership Excellence Award

“Not only was Dr. Vega at the vanguard of modern surgical techniques, but he has always been at the forefront of a dogged pursuit of quality healthcare and patient access to that care. Dr. Vega espoused the ‘patient and family experience’ within UW Health long before it became a buzzword.” –Michael J. Garren, MD, FACS, FASMBS Copyright © 2017 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System