Drs. Funk and Gibson Named as the New Vice Chairs of Research

Angela Gibson, MD, PhD
Luke Funk, MD, MPH

The Department of Surgery recently named Dr. Luke Funk, Associate Professor in the Division of Minimally Invasive Surgery, and Dr. Angela Gibson, Associate Professor in the Division of Acute Care and Regional General Surgery, as the new Vice Chairs of Research. They assumed the role of Vice Chairs of Research on May 1.

“Our faculty and trainees continue to innovate and explore areas of new discovery,” Dr. Funk said. “We have tremendous support at our institution, and my goal is to help ensure that our research teams are able to utilize the resources they need across the UW-Madison campus and beyond to move our fields forward.”

“Our department has an amazing wealth of resources and support for investigators at all stages and a strong reputation for collaboration within and outside of our organization,” Dr. Gibson said. “I am looking forward to contributing to the tremendous progress made in the growth and organization of the groundbreaking research in the department.”

Dr. Susan Thibeault, Professor in the Division of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery, and Dr. Lee Wilke, Professor in the Division of Surgical Oncology, served as Co-Vice Chairs of Research for eight and five years, respectively. During their tenures the Department of Surgery saw tremendous growth in its research portfolio as well as continued strengthening of its infrastructure.

“Drs. Funk and Gibson will take the torch and will do a fantastic job in growing and leading our research enterprise moving forward,” said Dr. Rebecca Minter, A.R. Curreri Distinguished Chair of the Department of Surgery. “They bring a unique combination of skills and experiences spanning health services and basic and translational science and I’m excited to watch them grow in their new roles.”