Skip to Content
Authors Birnbaum ML, Daily EK, O'Rourke AP
Author Profile(s)
Journal Prehosp Disaster Med Volume: 30 Issue: 6 Pages: 628-32
Publish Date 2015 Dec
PubMed ID 26555671

Each of the elements described in the Conceptual Framework for disasters has a temporal designation; each has a beginning and end time. The Temporal Framework defines these elements as phases that are based on characteristics rather than on absolute times. The six temporal phases include the: (1) Pre-event; (2) Event; (3) Structural Damage; (4) Functional Damage (changes in levels of functions of the Societal Systems); (5) Relief; and (6) Recovery phases. Development is not a phase of a disaster. The use of the Temporal Framework in studying and reporting disasters allows comparisons to be made between similar phases of different disasters, regardless of the hazard involved and/or the community impacted. For research and evaluation purposes, assessments, plans, and interventions must be described in relation to the appropriate temporal phase. Copyright © 2017 The Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System